Sun. Apr 14th, 2024

2021 Senior Awards

After a highly entertaining Carlton Sixes Tournament, the highlight of Saturday was the annual dinner and Senior prizegiving.


The event was expertly compered by Bob Irvine who almost had it running on time.  First up was a pre-recorded message from Director of Cricket Fraser Watts highlighting the many achievements of the club over the season.   Ally Evans then took the opportunity to hand out more numbered first team caps to several former players who are still heavily involved in the club.    Following that, all the senior team captains gave brief reports of their seasons and handed out batting, bowling & fielding awards.  It was then onto the whole club prizes including the Jappy Trophy – an annual award to someone who has made a major contribution to the club.


After the awards, Kerry Simpson & Karen D’Ulisse laid on some high quality casual dining fare and the bar did some brisk business.


Here is the full list of prize winners:-


1st XI Batting Shujaa Khan
1st XI Bowling Ally Evans
1st XI Fielding Arun Pillai
Womens XI Batting Annette Aitken-Drummond
Womens XI Bowling Charis Scott
Womens XI Fielding Abbi Aitken-Drummond
2nd XI Batting Gavin Murray
2nd XI Bowling Charles Stronach
2nd XI Fielding Harry Simpson
3rd XI Batting Zaki Yusaf
3rd XI Bowling Brad McKay
3rd XI Fielding Paul Kentish
4th XI Batting Rory Ledingham
4th XI Bowling Andrew Lang
4th XI Fielding Joe Ward
5th XI Batting Keith Murray
5th XI Bowling Kyle Burgess
5th XI Fielding John Beattie
Wicket Keeping Trophy Tom Simpson
Club Fielder of the Year Abbi Aitken-Drummond
Six Hitting Trophy Hugo Southwell
Best Individual Performance Ally Evans (5 for 10 against Heriot’s)
Best Introduction to Senior Cricket Oli Stones
Young Player of the Year Ruaridh McIntyre
Men’s Player’s Player of the Year Shujaa Khan
Women’s Player’s Player of the Year Masie Maceira
Jappy Trophy for Service to the Club Stevie Gilmour